Tag It Thursday #2

So today’s tag will also be a mixed media tag. I began by using an Inksentials #8 manilla tag. I decided to cover the entire background with a piece of deli wrap (sandwich wrap) paper that I previously used to clean off stencils and test spray inks on. I attached the paper to the tag using Golden Gel Medium-Regular Gel (Gloss), coating both under the paper and on top of the paper. I then cut around the tag to remove the excess paper.

IMG_1331.JPG

IMG_1332.JPG

IMG_1333.JPG

Then I took a piece of scrap watercolor paper (Canson 140 lb cold pressed) that I had lying around and I traced the shape of the tag on it. Then with pencil (I use Staedtler mechanical pencils with 0.5 HB lead) I drew a girl on the paper in the same location as where I want her to be on the actual tag.

IMG_1334.JPG

Now to color her in. I always color in my faces BEFORE I ink my outline. However, I lighten my pencil lines on skin locations first so that it doesn’t smear when I add marker. I just use a kneaded eraser to do this by rubbing it over the area I am about to color. I used Faber Castell Pitt Artist Pens (brush) in skin tones to color her face.

IMG_1335.JPG

IMG_1337.JPG

Now that her face is colored I use a Rotring Radiograph pen with a .10 nib to outline my drawing. After I finish my outline, I use a white rubber eraser to erase all of my pencil lines. I then color in the rest of the girl using Faber Castell Pitt Artist Pens (brush) in various colors. You might notice that I also decided to add polka dots to her skirt. I also used a gold Sakura Gelly Roll pen to color her belt. Once she was all colored in I cut her out with scissors and an exacto knife.

IMG_1338.JPG

IMG_1339.JPG

IMG_1340.JPG

When I placed the girl on top of the tag I realized there was not enough contrast so she kind of just blended in. So I grabbed a Portfolio water soluble oil pastel in slate grey and outlined where I planned to place the girl. I then put the girl aside and colored that area (plus a little more) with the pastel. I then smeared the pastel with my finger and added a little water with a paint brush. I then sealed the tag with Krylon Satin Finish. I also decided to seal the girl as well. I then glued the girl down on the tag using the same Golden Gel Medium I used above.

IMG_1341-3.JPG

IMG_1342.JPG

IMG_1343.JPG

IMG_1344.JPG

Next I wanted to bring out some of the other colors in the tag so I did this by using Washi Tape. I put a coat of gel medium over the tape just to insure it wouldn’t come off when handling the tag. I also wanted to add a little more interest to the background and incorporate some more black. I did this with rubber cling stamps by Pam Carriker and Recollections using Staz On ink.

IMG_1345.JPG

IMG_1346-3.JPG

IMG_1347.JPG

Finally, in my stash I found an adorable lime green felt button and saw some navy blue sewing thread sitting on my desk so I sewed the button onto the tag. I then added the sentiment which came from a collage sheet a friend gifted me. I cut the words apart and drew a double lined border around each word using my Rapidograph pen. I glued them on using the same gel medium and to finish off the tag I inked the edges using the black Staz On ink. Here she is in all her glory. Let me know what you think.

IMG_1348-0.JPG

IMG_1349.JPG

IMG_1350-0.JPG

IMG_1351-1.JPG

10 thoughts on “Tag It Thursday #2

  1. I love the gals that you draw out. 🙂 When I started to try and draw faces….I was scared that I turned my gals into pumpkins! Don’t they look so orange until everything else gets colored too?! Great tag…..SO much work involved!

  2. Wow! What a great tutorial for this tag! So involved! I enjoyed this installment of Tag it Thursday! That’s a fabulous tag! I also love that you used a sewing technique! You could have easily just glued that green flower to the tag! Sewing it on just upped the awesomeness of this tag!

Leave a Reply

