Tag It Thursday #3

This week’ stag is another mixed media tag. To begin with I cover the background with a mixture of Frayed Burlap and Tea Dye Tim Holtz. Distress Inks. You’ll notice from the photos that I just use a cheap make-up sponge as an applicator. Then I went around the edges withVintage Photo Tim Holtz Distress Ink.

IMG_1428-2.JPG

IMG_1430-2.JPG

IMG_1431-2.JPG

IMG_1429-2.JPG

Next, I used a Tim Holtz Layering Stencil – Burlap THS007 and Tsukineko Walnut Ink. I then dried the walnut ink with a heat tool.

IMG_1432.JPG

I then glued down a piece of sheet music with an Elmer’s Washable School Glue Stick. I also added some stamping to the background. The postal mark stamp is from a set made by Dawn Houser and the faux washi tape stamp is by Recollections. The other stamp is from I set I bought, but I don’t remember what brand it was.

IMG_1437.JPG

IMG_1435.JPG

Next, I worked on my focal point. The quote comes from the same collage sheet I used last week. I didn’t want it to be stark white so I covered it with Antique Linen Tim Holtz Distress Ink and the edged it with Vintage Photo Tim Holtz Distress Ink. I decided I would put down a piece of washi tape (black with white polka dots) to help draw the eye to my focal point. I glue the quote down with same Elmer’s Glue Stick as used above and I also secured the two ends of the washi tape with glue, as washi tape tends to lift over time.

IMG_1438.JPG

IMG_1436.JPG

Next I made some butterflies using rubber stamps on white card stock. The butterflies came from a set, but I have no idea who made them. I used Staz On black ink. I then colored them in using Prismacolor Markers in black, wheat, and sky blue light and with a Copic Ciao Marker in mauve shadow. I then cut out the butterflies , bent their wings up, and glued them onto the tag using Glossy Accents By Ranger.

IMG_1433.JPG

IMG_1434.JPG

IMG_1439.JPG

After looking at the tag, I decided the colorful butterflies, even though colored subtly, we’re competing with my focal point. Si I decided to add som Frayed Burlap Distress Ink over the tip of them to dim them down. I also decided to ink the very edge of the tag with Black Soot Distress Ink to help tied all of the black elements together. I also added a couple more of the postal mark stamps and a date stamp at the bottom (date stamp by Smash).

Here is the final Tag. let me know what you think. πŸ™‚

IMG_1441.JPG

6 thoughts on “Tag It Thursday #3

  1. Love the vintage look of this one. I have that same Walnut Ink but kind of forget about it because it’s in a different drawer. I should move it to the drawer with my other spray inks. Thanks for the inspiration!

Leave a Reply

