Tag It Thursday #6

This week’s tag is a mixed media tag on my standard #8 manilla tag. I began with a Tim Holtz layering stencil (Cargo THS001) and Golden Pyrrole Red Fluid Acrylic Paint, which I applied with a make-up sponge.

IMG_1471.JPG

Next, I added a little of the left over red paint around some of the edges. I then added some splashes of watercolor paint for color (Daniel Smith Aureolin, M.Graham & Co. Quinacridone Rose, and Van Gogh Yellow Green).

IMG_1472.JPG

Then I outlined the tag with a scribble border using Noodler’s Heart of Darkness ink, which I have loaded in a Noodler’s fountain pen. I also added three pieces of Washi tape with black backgrounds to help bring out the scribble border.

IMG_1473.JPG

On a piece of white card stock I sketched out a bird with pencil and then went over my sketch in a scribble fashion with the Noodler’s ink. With watercolor paints I colored in the bird using a mixture of blues and greens along with the Aureolin for the beak. I then glued the bird onto the tag using an Elmer’s white glue stick. I also added a little more darker blue and some green paint to the bird as the card stock had kind of sucked up the brilliance of the initial colors. I also drew some feet on the bird using my Noodler’s ink.

IMG_1474.JPG

IMG_1475.JPG
IMG_1476.JPG

IMG_1477.JPG

Finally, I added some doodles and stamped a sentiment on the same white card stock. I used StazOn black ink. I cut out the sentiment, inked the edges and glued it on with my Elmer’s glue stick. Here is what the finished tag looks like. Let me know what you think.

IMG_1478.JPG

6 thoughts on “Tag It Thursday #6

  1. Fabulous! I love the red and blue contrast. …again thanks for saying what you used. I should invest in some make up sponges. 🙂 (I’ve been using my finger, but that doesn’t always go down so well.)

Leave a Reply

