Tag It Thursday #10

Wow! I can’t believe I’ve been posting a Tag every Thursday for ten weeks now. That must be some kind of record for me…to do anything for that long. LOL.

Today’s tag is not mixed media…SURPRISE. LOL. Instead I will be using the standard #8 tag and acrylic paint. That’s it. Nice and simple. To begin with I used some inexpensive gray acrylic paint (Sargeant’s) and painted to coats on the entire front of the tag.

Tag10-1

Next, I wanted to add a black border so I took a scrap of card stock from some junk mail and used it like a stencil. I just exposed the border of the tag and then applied black paint with a make-up sponge.

Tag10-2Tag10-3

Oops, this border did not come out the way I wanted it. I was looking for some nice clean lines, but it looks like I had a lot of stencil bleed-through. So to fix this I’m just going to change my plan slightly and make this tag a little more grungy. I watered down some black acrylic paint and applied it to the tag and then rubbed it off with a napkin (from Starbucks…I always seem to have plenty of them lying around since I go there all the time). I did this a couple of times until I got the look I wanted.

Tag10-4Tag10-5

Then I began painting Pine Tree Silhouettes across the card with black acrylic paint. I painted the trees by first painting a vertical line the length I wanted the tree top. Then I just stroked from that line outward and down on each side using a #4 round brush. Then I put the trunks in using a #2 script liner brush. I also painted some ground at the bottom of the tag.

Tag10-7Tag10-8

Next, I watered down some of the black paint and splattered it on the tag. Once the black paint was dry, I watered down some white acrylic paint and splatter that all over the tag. For my black and white acrylic paint I used Golden Fluid Acrylics.

Tag10-9Tag10-6

Once the black paint was dry, I watered down some white acrylic paint and splatter that all over the tag and then I painted “peace on earth” at the bottom of the tag. Here is the finished tag. Let me know what you think. 🙂

Tag10-10

2 thoughts on “Tag It Thursday #10

  1. You’re doing it! Love to see what you do each week. 🙂 I like that this weeks tag isn’t done in the more traditional colors of this time of year. Beautifully done!

Leave a Reply

