Tag It Thursday #11

Welcome Back! I hope you all had a wonderful Thanksgiving holiday and were able to spend quality time with family and/or friends. This weeks tag is a total experiment (and luckily it worked). I am using the usual #8 manilla tag as my base. I am then going to be using a stencil (TCW88S-by The Crafters Workershop) and Golden’s Fluid Acrylic paint in Micaceous Iron Oxide. I used some Washi tape to hold the stencil in place and applied the paint with a palette knife.

tag11-1 tag11-2 tag11-3a tag11-3b

As you can see I had some bleed through on the stencil. That is okay because it won’t really matter for this technique. Next, I painted the entire tag using Golden’s Fluid Acrylic paint in Carbon Black (I don’t have a picture to show you because it was out of focus). After the black paint was dry, I used a make-up sponge and and sporadically brushed on some of Golden’s Acrylic paint in Cobalt Teal. You want to make sure some of the black shows through in this stage. I’m trying to go for a patina look. You’ll notice that some of the Micaceous Iron Oxide relief (from the stencil) came off when I applied the Cobalt Teal. Ideally, I should have let the Micaceous Iron Oxide dry longer since it was thicker. It was dry to the touch, but apparently wasn’t dry all the way through. That is okay because I am going for an aged look and it will get covered up in my next step.

tag11-4

For the next step I again used the make up sponge and applied Golden’s Fluid Acrylic paint in Iridescent Gold Deep (Fine). I focused most of my paint on the raised portion (the Micaceous Iron Oxide from the stencil). However, I did sporadically apply gold on the remainder of the tag. Make sure a lot of the Cobalt Teal shows through though as it is that color that is symbolic of the patina. I also applied the gold paint around the edges of the tag.

tag11-5

I found black and turquoise paper flowers in my stash and gave them a more cohesive look by adding some gold paint to their edges and covering the rhinestone. I also added additional gold paint on the top of the turquoise flower (not shown in this picture). I glued the flowers onto the tag using Ranger’s Glossy Accents.

tag11-6tag11-7

Now for the sentiment. I used Tech Tools 9/16″ Lettering Stencil (954180) that I purchased in the drafting section of Hobby Lobby. I filled in the letters using a Sharpie water-based Metallic Gold paint pen (extra fine point). Once the paint pen had dried I took my fountain pen filled with Noodler’s Heart of Darkness Ink and shaded the letters. While the ink was still wet I used a damp paintbrush to smudge it some.

tag11-8tag11-9

I decided to use that same technique with the Noodler’s ink around the relief area from the stencil. Here is the final tag. Let me know what you think.

tag11-10

6 thoughts on “Tag It Thursday #11

Leave a Reply

