Inktober is Here!

Inktober

Inktober is here! You might ask “What is Inktober?”

Every October, artists all over the world take on the #inktober drawing challenge by doing one ink drawing a day the entire month. Jake Parker created Inktober in 2009 as a challenge to improve his inking skills and develop positive drawing habits. It has since grown into a worldwide endeavor with thousands of artists taking on the challenge every year. The logo above is linked to the Inktober web page where you can read the rules and other information.

I am participating in Inktober for the first time. You can use any kind of ink pen, but I want to learn how to use a Dip Pen for drawing. So I will be challenging myself to do all 31 drawings for Inktober using a Dip Pen. I have a whole box of different inks and a lot of pen nibs so I plan to have some fun with this challenge. I will post my Inktober drawings on a weekly basis (so you’ll see a weeks worth of drawings in one post).

Here is my Day 1 Drawing using Higgins Waterproof Drawing Ink (Black):

Inktober Day 1 Drawing

This was my first time drawing with a Dip Pen. You might notice the there are some spots where the pen really bled, this was due to my applying too much pressure with the nib. The nib separates and widens when pressure is applied. This is definitely going to be a learning experience.

Here is my Day 2  Drawing using Bombay India Ink (Cherry Red):

Inktober Day 2 Drawing

I seemed to have better control of the Dip Pen on my second drawing. I also used a small amount of Daniel Smith’s Shadow Violet watercolor paint on the flower petals to create some shadows.

Here is my Day 3 Drawing using Bombay India Ink (Tangerine):

inktober_day_3

Day three’s drawing was a lot of fun, especially with the Tangerine ink! Again I felt I had good control over the nib of the pen.

Here is my Day 4 Drawing using Daler-Rowney Calli Calligraphy Ink (Blue):

Inktober Day 4 Drawing

This one was also fun to draw. Again, I felt like I had good control of the pen nib.

8 thoughts on “Inktober is Here!

  1. It’s cool to see what you come up with everyday. When you’re done you’ll have a great book full of sketches. Do you think you will continue on past the month?

  2. Wow, your drawings are awesome, Tandy. I love the feather details on your rooster. I wonder if I can use heavily diluted gouache instead of the bombay ink…

    • Thanks! It would probably dilute the pigment too much. You can use any kind of India ink, acrylic ink, calligraphy ink, well basically any kind of liquid ink that comes in a jar or bottle.

  3. You are going to have one gorgeous sketchbook when October is finished! Your ink drawings are wonderful! My favorite of these is the octopus! Can’t wait to see more!

  4. Wow I wonder if I can still join Inktober? I could play catch up but maybe that defeats the purpose of the challenge… Anyway I love your drawings and it will be great practise especially with a new medium. I think the written words underneath look great too, stylised writing just seems to work effectively with your design!

Leave a Reply

